Gluten-free diets are prescribed to people with Celiac Disease, an autoimmune condition that results in intestinal damage when gluten is ingested. The diet may also be followed by people with non-Celiac gluten sensitivity. Gluten is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Oats are also commonly avoided because they’re frequently cross-contaminated with wheat. A gluten-free diet requires strict avoidance of these grains in the form of flours, breads, pastas, and baked goods as well as products that contain sweeteners, starches, and emulsifiers derived from these ingredients. The FDA requires that products contain less than 20 ppg of gluten to be considered gluten-free. To be classified as gluten-free by Simple Green Earth, a product must be identified as gluten-free by the manufacturer. For severe gluten allergies, contact the manufacturer directly for more information.